Mehbooba Band - Fanfare De Calcutta

Mehbooba Band
Brass & Military
Fanfare De Calcutta
Label: Signature ‎– SIG 11003
Type: CD, Album
Country: France
Date of released:
Category: Brass & Military, Folk, World, & Country
Style: Field Recording, Marches, Folk


1 Raga Sahana 4:01
2 Hal Mere Watan Ke Logon 7:37
3 Ramachandra 5:57
4 Tohra Se Raji Naa Batamawa Se Raji 5:55
5 Bas Garba 3:14
6 Mumal 3:36
7 Pallu Iatke Jara So 4:49
8 Tomar Hridaya Range Bharaa 8:38
9 Om Jaya Jagadisha Hare 5:32
10 Pipli 6:58
11 Bharti Jholi Meri Ya Muhabbat 7:06


  • Artwork [Graphic Concept] – Michal Batory
  • Clarinet, Cornet, Trumpet, Drums [Western, Indian], Cymbal [Jhanj], Euphonium – Mehbooke Band*
  • Leader – Master Majnu
  • Recorded By, Photography – Deben Bhattacharya


From the release notes: "The band presented on this CD consists of several clarinets, cornets, trumpets, euphoniums, drums (western and Indian) and a pair of large cymbals, called jhanj in Hindi. Led by Master Majnu the band consists of twelve musicians and is called the Mehbooke Band. The music is of mixed origin. Ancient folk melodies and early 20th century patriotic songs. Sometimes a raga is thrown in too. The music was recorded in a Calcutta street-side passage in February 2000.

Distributed by Harmonia Mundi.
Comes in a digipak with a magnetic seal.

Barcode and Other Identifiers

  • Barcode: 7 94881 63002 8